2020 - 2021 Season

Welcome to the 2020/21 season at the Jack Kalson League.

In the close Season of 2018 The Jack Kalson League was awarded Charter Standard League Status which is The FA's accreditation scheme for grassroots Clubs and Leagues. It's goal is to raise standards in grassroots football, support the development of Clubs and Leagues, recognising and rewarding them for their commitment and achievements.

We welcome new clubs, teams, players and parents to the league alongside those returning and moving up in age groups. We hope that your season is enjoyable, competitive and played in a good spirit. Please remember that the league values and adheres to the Football Associations Respect initiative. No major changes to the league management structure have taken place this year except the retirement of Jim Heron as Saturday Fixture Secretary/Registrar. We wish Jim well and thank him for his many years of service to the league. Gabby Scott will take on this role. David Raines has agreed to be Saturday Referee Appointment Officer

This Season the League have 112 teams competing in 11 divisions with age groups from under eleven to under sixteen. The 48 under eleven and twelve teams play on Saturdays in 9 x 9 Football. There will be no results or League Tables published for under11 age group. The 64 teams under thirteen to under sixteen play on Sundays making a total of over 1700 players registered to participate in junior football in this area.

Chris Burnham, Secretary, Jack Kalson Junior Football League

t: 01724 339644 m: 07450 022848 e: secretary@kalsonjuniorleague.co.uk

Twitter: @kalsonjunior Facebook: Jack Kalson Junior League

Jack Kalson Junior League History

The League was officially formed in 1972-73 by local youth organizations including youth clubs and scout groups in the Scunthorpe area. These clubs had previously been playing friendlies and they formed one league for the under-fourteen age group to play on Sundays.

At the inaugurate meeting of the teams a committee was elected - Roy Fenwick was elected Secretary, which he retired from in 2014 and Chris Burnham, the present Secretary, was elected. Dennis Gregory was elected Chairman and Councillor Alex Moore, President. At the time Alex Moore was Chairman of Scunthorpe United and the first cup final was played at Scunthorpe Unitedís ground, the Old Show Ground.

Scunthorpe United still allow the League to stage their cup finals at Glanford Park which is a great experience for the teams lucky enough to get through. The first sponsors of the league were Northern Dairies and the withdrawal of their sponsorship coincided with Councillor Alex Moore stepping down as President.

Jack Kalson was then elected President and offered to sponsor the league solving two problems at the same time. Bob Steele was elected Chairman.

As more teams became members, the league had to affiliate to the Lincolnshire F.A. and Ray Hewson was elected Chairman which he retired from in 2008 and Alan Jones was elected as the new Chairman.

Many people were involved with the League in the early years - Colin Fox (Gunness Juniors) and Lee Collinson (Ashby Institute) were Vice Presidents and Trustees; Brian Borrill was a Vice President and Hon. Treasurer. When Jack Kalson died, Mike Darby was elected President with the League retaining the "Jack Kalson" name.

Left to right: Roy Maud (Treasurer), Jack Kalson (President),
Ray Hewson (Chairman), Graham Taylor, Roy Fenwick (Secretary),
Brian Borrill (Vice President), Colin Fox (Vice President)
Click Here!
The First Cup Final Programme
Site Design & Hosting by Kyanite Consulting Limited
Home Fixtures Tables
& Results Cup Draws
& Results Message Board Rules Officers & Club
Details Documents Contact Us
Menu No Javascript by Vista-Buttons.com v4.5.0